Driving Under DUI Suspension: 1543(b)

What Happens When You Get A Driving Under DUI Suspension Charge?

Pennsylvania’s Driving Under DUI Suspension violation is titled 75 Pa.C.S.A. § 1543 (b). 

If your Pennsylvania driver’s license is suspended or revoked for any reason, and you are caught driving, you could be facing serious penalties.

If the original suspension was due to a DUI or you have multiple suspended license violations, you may be subject to mandatory jail time.

Once your license is suspended, revoked, or canceled, if you chose to drive you are directly violating the suspension, and that can have serious consequences if you are caught.

The Consequences for driving with a § 1543(b) suspended license are severe. Understanding the consequences of this charge can help prevent and avoid further violations that could cause even longer suspension or possible incarceration.

75 Pa.C.S.A. § 1543 (b)-Driving while operating privilege is suspended or revoked  

Section 75 Pa.C.S.A. §1543(b) states:

 A person who drives a motor vehicle on a highway or trafficway of this Commonwealth at a time when the person’s operating privilege is suspended or revoked, upon a first conviction, be guilty of a summary offense and shall be sentenced to pay a fine of $500 and to undergo imprisonment for a period of not less than 60 days nor more than 90 days.

A second violation of this paragraph shall constitute a summary offense and, upon conviction of this paragraph, a person shall be sentenced to pay a fine of $1,000 and to undergo imprisonment for not less than 90 days.

A third or subsequent violation of this paragraph shall constitute a misdemeanor of the third degree and, upon conviction of this paragraph, a person shall be sentenced to pay a fine of $2,500 and to undergo imprisonment for not less than six months.

Speak to a Driving Under Suspension Lawyer Now!

75 Pa.C.S.A. §1543(b)(1.1) - Driving on DUI suspended License while Intoxicated

75 Pa.C.S.A. § 1543 (b) (1.1) – More severe penalties will be imposed if a driver has a DUI-suspended license and is caught with a blood alcohol concentration of at least .02 percent, has any controlled substances in their system, or refuses to submit chemical testing on suspension.

The punishment for this driving under suspension violation is:

  • First Offense: 90 days in jail and a $1000 fine
  • Second Offense: At least 6 months in jail and a $2500 fine
  • Third or subsequent offense: At least 2 years in jail and a $5,000 fine for a third offense.
If you are charged with a 1543(b) or violation, it’s in your best interest to consult with a criminal attorney before your first hearing.

Penalties for Driving Under DUI Suspension

High Fines

Fines between $500-$5000

Mandatory Jail Time

Mandatory Jail time between 60 days- 2 years

License Suspension

Minimum of 1 Year License Suspension after conviction

Penndot Suspension Calculation

All suspension time is calculated consecutively

Questions about what you read? Contact Us Today!

Why you need a Driving Under Suspension Lawyer?

Additional Info